Sunday, 27 July 2014

Heritage 14 launched on 17 June at The Henson, Marrickville

The launch of a Marrickville Heritage Society journal is always a landmark occasion and on Tuesday 17 June about 50 members and friends gathered at The Henson to meet with some of the authors and those who produced it. The Henson was chosen as the venue both as one of the journal advertisers, and, in its refurbished state, as a local venue worth supporting. The Society’s commitment to its members was demonstrated by the fact that it catered for the event and continues to provide each membership of the Society with a complimentary copy of the journal. Other members should receive their copy with the July newsletter. Extra copies are $10 each.

Journal editor Richard Blair reflected on how the aims of this journal are no different from the aims of the Society’s first journal in 1984, Heritage 1, namely ‘to create a much greater community awareness, both within and outside Marrickville, of the rich cultural heritage of this area’. Richard thanked his collaborator Lorraine Beach for her outstanding layout and design; Hillary Goldsmith for her assiduous proofreading over several drafts; Pamela Stewart for facilitating most of the advertising, which together with sponsorship covered the production costs of the journal; and all advertisers and sponsors.

Authors present spoke briefly: Sue Castrique, on the Addison Road army camp; Julie Bishop, who with her husband Noel wrote of their Camperdown house history; Kate Dunbar, who recalled her tough Newtown and Marrickville childhood; and archivist David Roberts, who wrote about Newington College’s 150 years. Lorraine thanked the printers (who attended) and Richard for bringing the journal so seamlessly together.

(Taken from July 2014 Newsletter - Editor Richard Blair)
Julie Bishop
Kate Dunbar
David Roberts

Heritage in Danger - 6 Livingstone Road, Peterhsam

The above photograph Sawtooth Roof by Deborah Kent was highly commended in the Marrickville Council's Urban Photography Competition (part of the Marrickville Medal awards).

But this building is under threat. Council are now looking at whether it should be included on the heritage register, or if it should be knocked down to make way for a parking lot.

At their July 1st Meeting, Marrickville Council tabled item IP0714 Item 9

Council split 6 – 6 last to reject an expert heritage report that the building had significant heritage value.  A rescission motion was lodged and the issue will be revisited by Council on 4 August.

The unique building has heritage significance in its physical heritage, but also cultural heritage. The full records of this can be found on the IP0714 link.

The land was part of one of the earliest land grants in the area. It was granted to Neil Mckellar in 1794 by Governor Grose. McKellar became secretary and aide-de-camp to Governor King after having been a Lieutenant in the NSW Corps.

Horden House are selling the original grant
documents for $12 500 if anyone is interested!

 The land changed hands a few times, including ownership by William Charles Wentworth and butcher James Gould Senior who operated a butchers shop on the corner until 1915 when the Commonwealth Bank building was erected.

James Gould Junior served on Marrickville Council as an Alderman for 18 years and was Marrickville's Mayor in 1897, 1898 and 1905. He was a founder of the Marrickville Cottage Hospital.

James Gould Jnr developed the land as part of his business as a produce merchant. Historical evidence indicates the current storage buidling at 6 Livingstone Road was developed in two stages after 1886.

Around 1925 Beynon & Haywood began operating a furniture removal and storage business on the site.

Do you agree with this building being lost to a carpark? Are there no other options or places this could be done?

Here is your chance to voice your opinion by contacting council or attending the meeting.

Let's hope this does not become another "Heritage Lost" article.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...